Walking around Chungking Mansions in Hong Kong

Posted on Updated on

So this last weekend it was time to do a visa run for our mainland China visas, so I went with a friend to Hong Kong for a day trip. We crossed the border at Louhu Station in Shenzhen into Hong Kong and planned to hit two destinations that day: Chungking Mansions (The Indian district of Hong Kong) and the Temple Street Market (The most famous street market in Hong Kong.)

Snapshot_34
The view from the MTR train into the city

From Lo Wu station, we went all the way to Kowloon Tong and transferred to the green line to Mong Kok. Then we transferred again to the red line and got off at Tsim Tsa Shui where Chungking Mansions is located. Upon arrival, we were bombarded with Indian men trying to sell us drugs. Over and over I kept hearing “Hash? Cocaine? Marijuana?” it was a pretty funny experience. We knew we were in the right place. Chungking Mansions is where I come in Hong Kong to buy all sorts of interesting things that can’t be found in mainland china. Mainly, I buy authentic Indian curry paste so I can make curry dishes like in Indian restaurants at home, and I also buy pinto beans so I can make refried beans (For some reason, pinto beans are just nonexistent in mainland China.)

IMG_0384
Outside the entrance of Chungking Mansions

Inside Chungking mansions we did a walk around which I filmed and found some amazing Indian food and some pretty cool deals. You can also get the cheapest hotels in Hong Kong in this area as well. I really love going to Hong Kong, because it’s such a culture shock compared to mainland China. It is really the feeling of being in a more developed country, instead of all Chinese people you truly see a mixing pot of people just like in America. I love it.

IMG_0371
In a back alley of Chungking mansions taking in the dillapidated scenery

Here are the things I got from Chungking Mansions that day:

Snapshot_33

3 cans of authentic Indian curry paste: tikka paste, tandoori paste, and butter chicken paste. I can’t wait to try cooking with it at home! I also visited the Temple Street Market that day, and I will have a walk through video with the bargains I got coming next week!

Take a look at part one of our Hong Kong day trip below at Chungking mansions! Don’t forget to subscribe if you enjoy the video!

2 thoughts on “Walking around Chungking Mansions in Hong Kong

    TravelDevoted said:
    June 2, 2016 at 4:05 am

    Headed to Hong Kong next Thursday, can’t wait!

    Like

      ianwyoung responded:
      June 2, 2016 at 4:51 am

      Awesome! Enjoy your time there what are your plans? Make sure you check out the Temple Street Market, I’ll have a video about my visit there later this week too you can get some insane deals on anything fashion-related.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

